Florida Medical Marijuana Laws
- Florida Medical Marijuana Laws prohibit anyone in Florida to possess marijuana flower or buds unless it is sealed in a tamper-proof container sold at a dispensary. Even if you are a patient and have a valid medical marijuana card, it is still illegal to buy, possess or use recreational marijuana. All medical marijuana must be purchased by you, or your caregiver, from a dispensary in Florida.
- It is illegal to share your medical marijuana with another peson, even if they are also a patient in the Medical Marijuana Use Registry.
- Florida Medical Marijuana Laws prohibit you to use your high-THC medication in public or on public transportation. It is still legal to possess in public, just not use in public. It is lawful to medicate with low-THC (CBD only) medicine in public. It would be wise to avoid any federal buildings (courthouse, tax collector/DMV) and any establishments that receives federal funding (schools, community hospitals, etc).
- Unless permitted by your employer, you cannot medicate at your place of employment.
- Florida Medical Marijuana Laws prohibit to medicate with high-THC medicine while operating a vehicle, boat, aircraft, etc. It is lawful to use low-THC (CBD only) medicine in these situations.
- It is illegal for medical marijuana patients to take their medicine out of state, even if it is to another state where medical marijuana is legal. The medicine cannot cross state lines. Laws on this are still in their infancy and liable to change as states become more familiar and comfortable with medical marijuana. However, realize that there is a legal risk in taking your medicine out of Florida.
- You MUST provide your Medical Marijuana Use Registry identification card if asked by law enforcement. Best to carry your card on your person at all times.
- Patients must continue to meet the standards for qualification. Patients must see their qualified physician for an in-person physical exam at a minimum of every 210 days or 7 months. While this is the minimum under the law, some patients may require more frequent visits at the discretion of the physician. Patients must also submit a renewal card application on an annual basis. If this lapses, you must start at the beginning of the application process.